Schedule

Register on Eventbrite to receive updates on the events

Sat, Feb 26

Commemoration and Remembrance

Gujarat 2002: The Beginning of Genocide
Time: 8-10am EST, 2-4pm CEST, 6.30-8.30pm IST
Speakers: RB Sreekumar, Teesta Setalvad, Aakashi Bhatt, Shamshad Pathan
Moderator: Haroon Kasim
Join Sessionhttps://tinyurl.com/36wh77hv

This roundtable will remind us of the genocide that took place in Gujarat in 2002, discuss the struggles for justice, the impugnity of the perpetrators, and the complicity of the state.

Join Sessionhttps://tinyurl.com/36wh77hv

Hijab Ban, Hate Speech and Hounding: Targeting of Muslim Women in the Long Shadow of Gujarat 2002
Time: 10.30- 12.30am EST, 4:30-6:30pm CEST, 9-11pm IST
Speakers: Sabika Abbas Naqvi, Nitasha Kaul, Kavita Krishnan, Safoora Zargar, Ayesha Renna
Moderator: Elisa von Joeden-Forgey
Join session
https://tinyurl.com/yckrtsnf

This roundtable will explore key aspects of the current situation in India through the lens of gender, with a focus on the current Hijab ban, state-sanctioned gendered hate speech, and the Citizenship Amendment Act which specifically targets Muslim women, in the shadow of the 20th anniversary of the genocidal massacres in Gujarat.

Join sessionhttps://tinyurl.com/yckrtsnf

Fireside Conversation on Gujarat, Cradle and Harbinger of Identity Politics with Prof Jan Breman
Time: 1-2pm EST, 7-8 pm CEST, 11:30pm-0:30am IST
Join Session: 
https://tinyurl.com/2p8y8vfh

Prof. Jan Breman will discuss his latest book, Gujarat, Cradle and Harbinger of Identity Politics – he will explain how under the Hindutva regime, India is a country under occupation where exclusion from rights of citizenship are similar to the Netherlands and Europe in the 1940s.

Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/2p8y8vfh

Silence is Complicity: Hindu Response to Majoritarian Violence
Time: 2.30-3.30 pm EST, 8:30-9:30pm CEST, 1-2am (next day) IST
Speakers: Anantanand Rambachan, Dr Rakesh Pathak, Brahmachari Atmabodhananda
Moderator: Sunita Vishwanath.
Join Sessionhttps://tinyurl.com/yckpme7z

For years, despite rising majoritarian violence perpetrated by Hindu extremist mobs against Muslims, Christians, Dalits, and other marginalized communities in India, few Hindu religious leaders or institutions have spoken out against these trends and the rising influence of the political ideology of Hindu nationalism, or “Hindutva.” This panel discussion will interrogate the phenomenon of “Hindu silence,”, particularly in the aftermath of the Dharma Sansad of December 2021, in which Hindu extremist leaders called for genocide against Indian Muslims. Our panellists will speak to the need for Hindu leaders, institutions, and ordinary community leaders to speak out against violence and hate carried out in the name of a monolithic Hindu identity.

Join Sessionhttps://tinyurl.com/yckpme7z

Sun, Feb 27

India today: On the Brink of Genocide?

Assam’s Forgotten Genocide: Revisiting Nellie Massacre of 1983
Time:7.00-7.45am EST, 1-1:45pm CEST, 5.30-6.15pm IST
Speakers: Makiko Kimura and Subasri Krishnan
Moderator: Aman Wadud
Join Sessionhttps://tinyurl.com/mvuwdfn5

This fireside conversation will explore the dynamics of genocide in Assam, the continued state complicity, and institutional apathy towards Muslims in Assam.

Join Sessionhttps://tinyurl.com/mvuwdfn5

Indian Muslim Genocide: A Clear & Present Danger with Yvonne Ridley
Time: 8-9am EST, 2-4pm CEST, 6.30-7.30pm IST
Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/4vecmest

Is India currently on the Brink of Genocide? We discuss this with Yvonne Ridley.

Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/4vecmest

India’s Nuremberg Laws: Legalizing Genocide
Time: 9.30-10.30am EST, 3:30-4:30pm CEST, 8-9pm IST
Speakers: Nadeem Khan, Aakar Patel, and Afreen Fatima
Moderator: Amina Kausar
Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/28sm956f

The roundtable will discuss the making of the “Hindu Rashtra”, wherein anti-conversion legislation, laws preventing interfaith marriage and more are eroding the secular inclusive nature of the Indian Constitution – and discusses how exactly these link to lethal violence being perpetrated.

Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/28sm956f

WhatsApp as a Weapon: Hate Speech & Violence
Time: 11am-12 noon EST, 5-6pm CEST, 9.30-10.30pm IST
Speakers: Ram Bhat, Avinash Kumar, Suchitra Vijayan
Moderator: Shaheen
Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/568hrukt

The roundtable brings together people who have been actively monitoring violence against minorities, from dog-whistling and rumours on WhatsApp groups, to mob lynchings and hackings for alleged “love jihad”, and state complicity within it. 

Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/568hrukt

Can International Law Prevent Genocide of Indian Muslims?
Time: 12:30-1:30pm EST, 6:30-7:30pm CEST, 11-12 midnight IST.
Speakers: Irene Massimino, Katherine Southwick and Tun Khin
Discussant: Ritumbra Manuvie
Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/3axrk47c

This fireside conversation will explore the scope of international law and the responsibilities of the international community to prevent genocide, drawing on the experiences from Myanmar and the world.

Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/3axrk47c

Fireside Conversation on the Role of Gender in Preventing Genocide
Time: 2-3pm EST, 8-9pm CEST, 0:30-1:30am (next day) IST
Speakers: Elisa von Joeden-Forgey and Velma Saric
Discussant: Suchitra Vijayan
Join session: https://tinyurl.com/fb6nhnd5

This fireside will explore once again from a gendered lens the role of women in creating moral incentives and a culture of protection in preventing genocide.

Join session: https://tinyurl.com/fb6nhnd5

Mon, Feb 28

The Way Forward: Preventing Genocide in India

Plenary: India on the Brink with Prof. Gregory Stanton
Time: 8-8.30am EST, 2-2.30pm CET, 6.30-7.00pm IST
Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/5b9kd9ub

Prof. Stanton will connect racism, nationalism, and genocide in Turkey, Germany, Cambodia, Rwanda, the USA and India.

Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/5b9kd9ub

Dehumanization & Polarization: Hindutva Hate Speech
Time: 8.30-9.15am EST, 2.30-3.15pm CET, 7-7.45pm IST
Speakers: Greg Gordon, Jean-Damascene Gasanabo, Meetali Jain, Manavi Atri
Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/5ddj6tn4

Prof. Gregory Stanton will speak to global experts on hate speech and polarization to critically explore the rise of Hindutva hate speech and increased polarization in India. Prof. Gordon will explain how to recognize, outlaw, and counter hate speech. Mr. Gasanabo will illustrate how incitement led to genocide against the Tutsis in Rwanda.

Join Session: https://tinyurl.com/5ddj6tn4

Genocidal Hate Speech & State Responsibility
Time: 9.30-10.30am EST, 3:30-4:30pm CEST, 8-9pm IST 
Speakers: H.E. Adama Dieng, Alishaan Jafri, Kaushik Raj
Join session: https://tinyurl.com/2p9xvrb4

In this fireside conversation, actors from the ground who have encountered hate and hate speech will come together in a conversation with H.E. Adama Dieng, former UN Special Advisor on Genocide Prevention.

Join session: https://tinyurl.com/2p9xvrb4

The Big Lie: Hindutva and the Power of Propaganda
Time: 11am-12 EST, 4-5pm CEST, 9.30-10.30pm IST
Speakers: Jason Stanley, Angana Chatterji and Ayushman Kaul
Moderator: Ben Grazda
Join session: https://tinyurl.com/3kpracxn

The speakers in this conversation will engage on how social media has become a tool in the playbook of fascism and how we can reclaim our democracies.

Join session: https://tinyurl.com/3kpracxn

India’s Responsibility to Protect Muslims
Time: 12.30-1.30pm EST, 6.30-7.30pm CEST, 11pm – midnight IST
Speakers:
John Packer, Maung Zarni and Raqib Hamid Naik
Moderator: Gregory Stanton
Join session: https://tinyurl.com/hdbf6kr5 

What responsibility does India has to protect not just its own Muslims but also the Rohingyas who have found shelter in India? This is a question tackled by this roundtable, with speakers from the Rohingya community.

Join session: https://tinyurl.com/hdbf6kr5 

Investigating and Monitoring Genocide in India
Time: 2-3pm EST, 8-9pm CEST, 0:30-1:30am (next day) IST
Speakers: Nicole Widdersheim, Christopher Tuckwood, Mohan Dutta and Arjun Sethi
Moderator: Ritumbra Manuvie
Join session: https://tinyurl.com/yutepc5r

What does monitoring genocide look like? Who does the monitoring? How is technology being used to monitor genocide?

Join session: https://tinyurl.com/yutepc5r

India’s Role in Global Islamophobia
Time: 4-5pm EST, 10-11pm CEST, 2:30-3:30am (next day) IST
Speakers: Shaheen, Hatem Bazian, Rita-Jabri Markwell, Nabiya Khan and Afreen Fatima
Moderator: Haroon Kasim
Join session: https://tinyurl.com/djb4mxfr

Islamophobia is a global scourge which has reached a feverish pitch in India in recent times. Global and Indian experts come together in this roundtable to discuss strategies to counter Islamophobia.

Join session: https://tinyurl.com/djb4mxfr

EST stands for Eastern Standard Time (for example New York), CEST for Central European Standard Time (for example Berlin) and IST for India Standard Time (for example New Delhi). To convert to your time zone, use this tool here.